Monday, February 24, 2014

AFTB Courses

For those of you who don't know, the Army offers free classes to families which cover a myriad of subjects relating to Army family life. These are called Army Family Team Building classes (AFTB). I began taking these classes shortly after the new year, but have waited to post about them, as I took them out of order, and just recently completed Level 1.

One thing you may find interesting are the 7 core values of the Army, which is also known as the acronym LDRSHP (pronounced Leadership). Basically, these are:

  1. Loyalty - Bear true faith and allegiance to the U.S. Constitution, the Army, your unit and other Soldiers.
  2. Duty - Fulfill your obligations.
  3. Respect - Treat people as they should be treated.
  4. Selfless Service - Put the welfare of the nation, the Army, and your subordinates before your own.
  5. Honor - Live up to all the Army values.
  6. Integrity - Do what’s right, legally and morally.
  7. Personal Courage - Face fear, danger, or adversity [physical or moral].
To read a longer description for each value, go to the official army site:

Okay, some are kind of vague... and some actually remind me of Bible verses. Comment if you know which ones ;)

What do you think of this list? Have you ever written out a list of values to live by? Why might such a list be useful to you... or to a soldier? Just some questions that came to my mind...

Thank you for your love and support, family and friends.

No comments:

Post a Comment